Tags

, , , , ,

Hallmark’s slogan is (or used to be) “When you care enough to send the very best.”  Today’s challenge is to write about a greeting card I received and what about it made it special .

It’s a good thing there is only one challenge left after this one, because I’m getting annoyed. I am not interested in sappy greeting cards with sentimental, rhymey poems inside. If you want to impress me, make a card yourself and write your own message on the inside. That’s sweet. That’s remarkable. That’s creative. If you care enough to send the very best, make your own, because that’s the best kind of card.

I like Thank You notes – the blank kind, so you can write your own message. I got one from MoC after her birthday one year. I still have it. I treasure it because she took the time to write it herself. A Shoebox greeting card wouldn’t have had the same effect and as long as I’m being honest, it would have ended up in the trash. Don’t judge me. You should know by now that I’m not all that sentimental about stuff.

If you absolutely must get me a card, buy one that’s funny. Make me laugh. Find one that is a little sarcastic with a picture of a cute kitten on it. (Except the one with the kitten hanging by its paws from a tree that says “hang in there, baby!” ‘cause that one has been around for 40 years.)

Be original. Be creative. And stop giving Hallmark your money. Unless they hire me to be a greeting card writer, then spend all your money on greeting cards. Hey, a girl’s gotta eat, right?

