Tags

, , , , ,

I’m not a fan of animated movies. Shrek was just okay. Frozen didn’t thrill me but it didn’t make me want to break china plates, either, so I will give it a solid 5. Today’s challenge is to write about my favorite animated movie and/or which animated character I think is the best.  I’m also supposed to explore why I think animated characters can touch us so deeply. Um … they don’t?

I’m stymied. I have no idea. Nada.

I’ll have to go at this from a different direction.  Movies are entertainment, but they are also about real-life situations (excepting fantasy and science fiction, but even those types of movies have characters who have to relate to each other in a human way).  We don’t have to totally suspend our disbelief – just partially – for these movies to take us out of our own lives for a few hours.

Animation, on the other hand, is basically a two-hour cartoon for adults – because, let’s face it, even children’s animated movies often have something for adults to latch onto, otherwise the poor kiddies would never get to go to the movies. With a cartoon, our disbelief is completely suspended and we can relax and enjoy an entirely different world for a few hours.

Animated movies are our way of saving a town, rescuing a princess and being a hero without having to leave our recliners. It’s easier to relate to Shrek because we can tell ourselves it isn’t real. We can see it isn’t real. It’s a little harder for us to relate to Frank Martin (The Transporter) or Bryan Mills (Taken) because we can’t quite push aside the knowledge that we’re never going to be a badass. We can imagine ourselves as an ogre or a suave tomcat, but it’s harder to imagine ourselves as a ninja-like courier with world class driving skills or a retired special ops trained killer kicking everyone’s ass and saving his daughter. I can’t run fast, I’m not an excellent driver and my back hurts.

Reality may be a bitch, but I still prefer it over animation.

