Tags

, , , , , ,

“I’m a doctor! I know what I’m doing!”

That’s from ‘Love at First Bite’ – a movie that I’m going to have to watch again soon.  Several times, a bumbling Richard Benjamin as Dr. Jeffrey Rosenberg shouts that line as he’s doing something crazy to save his girlfriend (Susan Saint James) from the evil clutches of Dracula (George Hamilton).

It’s a silly comedy that came out when I was about 12 years old. I’m sure if I watched it again, I would understand even more of the humorous sexual undercurrents. For example, I thought the line “With you, never a quickie. Always a longie.” was funny, but at 12 I didn’t really understand it the way I do at 50  .. er, now. The movie is campy and silly, but I would still recommend it as a fun little time-suck. Ohhh, I said ‘suck.’  And in my head, it kind of sounded like Hamilton’s Dracula.

I watched it on television, so it must have been on cable. It wasn’t on network television because my second favorite line is Saint James’ when Dracula turns her into a vampire and explains that she can no longer go out in daylight – and she says, “That’s okay. I could never get my shit together before seven anyway.” Network television gets away with a lot more these days, but in the late 70’s, early 80’s, you just didn’t say “shit.”

Even today 38 years , all this time later, I still say “I’m a doctor! I know what I’m doing!” when I do something silly and/or completely stupid. It’s sad to me that no one recognizes that quote. For me, that movie will always be in my personal Hall of Fame.

With every other movie that comes out these days being a remake of something else, I think it might be time for a remake of ‘Love at First Bite.’  I know Richard Benjamin was in another spoof called “Saturday the 14th” but it just didn’t have the impact on me that ‘Love at First Bite’ did.

**Today’s challenge was to talk about my favorite movie quote and how I might convince someone to see the movie.

