Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

firstcar

This was my first new car. Well, not this particular car, but a white 1988 Corolla. I had my first big girl job but I wanted to move out of my parents’ house and get a big girl apartment so I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to afford the car. As a result, I ended up with a manual transmission and no air conditioning because it didn’t come with the standard package – which apparently only included a radio and a heater.  Anyway, I was out with my dad one day and he was fiddling with the vents and the flow control so I told him there was no A/C.  And he sat back, shook his head and said, “You have your priorities all fucked up.”  It was a fair statement.

Which, in a round about way, brings me to Colin Kaepernick and the reaction to his refusal to stand during the national anthem.  I’ve read so many comments condemning him for being unpatriotic, un-American and an entitled asshole. It’s like watching a shark feeding frenzy – it’s brutal and kind of terrifying.  People are in a rage over this, but I have several questions for the people who think he is unpatriotic.

Why is it so upsetting that a person chooses not to stand for the national anthem? I understand that it is a sign of respect, but why is it important to you that everyone stand? One person’s perceived lack of respect for the flag in no way diminishes your respect for the flag. I said perceived lack of respect because it goes both ways. Just because a person stands for the national anthem doesn’t automatically mean they do respect the flag or the country.  It could simply mean that they are adversely affected by peer pressure.

Why do we insist upon our rights – our right to our opinions, and our right to express those opinions, to name a few – and yet be so quick to relieve someone else of those same rights?  (Most of the comments on this article focus on the anticipated end of his football career. One person thinks he should be stashed in the locker room until the anthem is over. Pics or it didn’t happen, right?).

We’ll be mad about something else soon, I’m sure. I read a few spoiler articles for the upcoming television fall premieres because I’m about to cut the cable tv cord and won’t be watching anyway. Then I found an article about Anthony LaPaglia’s divorce. I couldn’t help it. The headline grabbed me: I’M SCOT-FREE AND I GET TO KEEP MY TOYS.  Seems he has 7 motorcycles. Cool, whatever. But then I looked at the comment section.

Ksassy • 4 hours ago

No wonder people end up broke. Who actually needs that many vehicles?

meena • 6 hours ago

Why does one person need that many motorcycles?

Ken  • an hour ago

he is a real POS ……………………..

StatueofLibertyAngry • 3 hours ago

I think it is so wasteful to have so many things to drive. We can have everything we want in moderation and here you see they have way too much. That is when the famous preach about raising wage, and the poor oppressed, yet that money would feed and house a lot. All a bunch of talk in my book.

When did we start deciding for each other what every person needs and how much money is too much for one person to have? When did we start feeling that success was immoral?

That last guy is mad at everyone AND the Statue of Liberty.

Our priorities are fucked up indeed.

