Tags

, , , , , ,

wrongwithyou

One of the advantages of working at home three days a week is that it naturally lowers my blood pressure because I’m not dealing with people all day. The disadvantage is … the other two days.

Wednesday I was semi-forced into this conversation:

Coworker: I watched the news all day while I was working (at home) yesterday.

Me (trying to head it off because I knew where it was going): I don’t watch the news.

CoW*: All day long, it was all about that shooting. I mean, come on, who wants to hear about that constantly?

Me (under my breath): Turn it off

CoW: They were talking about that guy and the reason he shot all those people and who can blame him? I mean, it’s kind of understandable.

Me: What?

CoW: Well, we’re over there bombing his country and we shouldn’t even be over there, it’s all about oil, and his people are dying and we just keep bombing. So it’s understandable, don’t you think?**

Me: NO.

What I wanted to say was: Are you insane, insensitive or ignorant? Because one of those can be fixed. Possibly two, but at least one.

At that point, I hadn’t read, watched or listened to any news about it because I am at my saturation point. I can’t take one more drop of depravity. I just can’t. So I knew nothing about the shooter and didn’t even know enough to tell my coworker that he was American. Had I known that, I still would have said nothing because I just can’t converse with insane, insensitive or ignorant people.

In related news, a house on an adjacent street has a huge confederate flag hanging from the front porch rail. It pisses me off every time I see it, but lately it kind of enrages me.  Hey Neighbor Guy: This isn’t 1860. You aren’t a Southerner. You aren’t even in Southern Missouri. You’re a fucking racist asshole and you, sir, are part of the problem.

Each time I drive by I am reminded that I haven’t smoked for over two years, but I do still have a Bic lighter ….

confederate flag

I can’t make the image bigger, so here is what it says (italics are mine): “As a people we are fighting to maintain Heaven-ordained supremacy of the white man over the inferior or colored race; A white flag would thus be emblematical of our cause. Upon a red field would stand fourth our southern cross, Gemmed, preserving in beautiful contrast the red white and blue” – William T. Thompson  April 23, 1863.

Here is his design

confederate-flags2

Feel free to argue in the comment section that the flag merely represented the Confederacy and was symbolic of states rights and not racist at all. And I will remind you that states rights included slavery and that our atrocious treatment of African Americans for the next 150 years is enough to make that flag offensive to every human being.

 

*I just realized how delightfully descriptive that acronym is!

**I think she was trying to bait me, but was smart enough to stop when she realized I wasn’t going to have a conversation about any of it.

 

