Tags

, , , , , ,

If you follow me on that immensely popular social networking site, then you know that I’ve been talking a lot lately about organic food. I would hardly call myself a tree-hugger and I don’t think anyone else would, either, so you can relax if you think this is going to be a boring lecture on the evils of Big Agriculture.

About 12 years ago, I was on several medications. I got off all of them, but not before I gained about 60 pounds. In 2007 I went on a popular weight loss program that is probably not the one that first came to your mind.  I lost 40 lbs and hit a plateau. Without going into detail, they suggested a ridiculous (and, in my mind, dangerous) plateau-buster. That was when I parted ways with them. In the last 8 years I have gained back 30 of the 40 lbs.

I’ve tried a lot of different things. Low carb, high protein, low fat and lots of combinations of carbs, protein and fat. Nothing worked. When MMB visited a couple summers ago, I decided to try no added sugar. I think I lasted two weeks on that one. Since 2007, I have changed most of my eating habits. I eat a lot of turkey, chicken and fish. I eat vegetables and fruit. I still had red meat but much less frequently. And I would go in spurts. Sometimes I would give up completely and eat fast food and chips.

Remember when I said I had been kind of hibernating on that immensely popular social networking site? Well, while I was doing that, I was also checking out youtube videos on consciousness, which led me to all kinds of stuff that branched out in many directions, most of them leading to crazy town. But I stumbled across a video that grabbed my attention* and made me think about the correlation between how I feel and what I’m eating.

Here’s a weird stat for you. By only changing to organic wherever possible (fruits, vegetables, bread and dairy), I’ve lost ten pounds in a month. I am back to doing yoga every day. I am working on cutting out all added sugar (most of it is already out of my diet) and GMOs. I stopped buying anything low-fat, non-fat or “light”. I eat real butter and use whole milk. I use organic olive oil to cook. And … I feel good. I feel really good. I used to take St John’s Wort to kind of level my mood but I haven’t taken that since the beginning of the year.

I don’t know that I want to switch to a vegetarian diet. I happen to like chicken and fish and turkey and a juicy steak every now and then. But I think it’s interesting that just by tweaking my diet a little more, I have more energy, I’m in a better mood and I don’t hate people quite so much.

I’m not interested in debating the benefits or drawbacks of the organic movement. All I really know is that no one is telling us the truth. They hide sugar under about 20 different names – that seems slightly unfair, if not completely unethical. No one really knows what the effect GMOs have on humans – they just think it’s probably okay. Our crops are doused with pesticides and no one seems to think that perhaps that isn’t healthy.

My path in life has taught me many things but the most important lesson I have learned is that doctors and scientists and politicians are not smarter than I am. They have a different knowledge base, that’s all. So if my food isn’t labeled in an honest, straight-forward manner then it is up to me to do the research and decide what is healthiest for me.

Someone asked me if I was okay – they were concerned that my interest in organic food might be because of a health issue. In a way, it is. I am doing it to avoid health issues. Because remember when I said I was eating all the right things and nothing was happening? I was eating low-fat or non-fat, diet or “light” food – eating frozen meals (always choosing the healthy ones) because they were fast and easy. But I was bitchy, bloated and sluggish and I felt like crap most of the time.

I can do something about the bloated and sluggish part. And I haven’t felt like crap in more than a month. Don’t worry, though, I’ve saved a little bitchy just for you.

*The opinions expressed in the video do not necessarily reflect my views, however it was a starting point for me.

