Tags

, , , , , , ,

Today is Chick-Fil-A Appreciation day. Whatever.

Just between you and me, I don’t give a flying fuck what the president of Chick-Fil-A thinks about the issue of gay marriage, or what he thinks about gay people in general. That probably makes me a terrible lesbian and I am sure I will get kicked out of the club. Furthermore, I don’t care that JC Penney hired Ellen as their spokesperson and I don’t care that they’ve started showing same sex couples in their commercials.

Chick-Fil-A is a private company (I think. I didn’t really do much research on this. And by ‘much’ I mean ‘any at all’). He can think what he wants and say what he wants and I will either give them my business or I won’t. Although, in the interest of transparency, I should tell you I have never been inside that restaurant.

What does bother me is that apparently Chick-Fil-A donates to anti-gay causes. I can live with some guy spouting off about traditional marriage – he is entitled to his opinion. But when his money goes directly to people who are actively trying to deny me certain rights, then I get a little pissy about it. He still has the right to do what he wants to do, but I don’t have to help him by buying his chicken sandwiches.

Just because someone is wrong doesn’t mean they don’t have a right to their opinion. Unless you’re putting your opinion here and I don’t agree with it. ๐Ÿ˜€ Then it will get deleted. My world, my rules.

I understand the need to get the equality message out there. I get the fact that if no one objects to opinions publicly, then nothing changes. Small steps forward are just as important as huge leaps. What that means for me is that now I will never know the addictive joy of a Chick-Fil-A sandwich because I will never darken their door.

On the other hand, the people lining up to buy Chick-Fil-A today have an absolute right to express their personal and political beliefs. What I think they might not realize is that by supporting a company that supports anti-gay groups (as opposed to just being passively smug and “Christian”), those people are actually paying money to hate me.ย I’m not certain, but I think maybe Jesus said something about loving your neighbor as you love yourself. So maybe they hate themselves, too, on some level. I’ve found that people who have to prove themselves right are often insecure and sad and scared, even if they never admit that to anyone, ever. I think this is especially true of “Christians” (and I put that in quotes because people who truly love Jesus and try to follow his example usually don’t freak out over the gay couple next door). “Christians” have an insane urge to prove themselves right – and righteous. If they are right and you don’t agree, you must be wrong. Because, holy shit, what if they’re wrong? For life to have meaning for them, for life to make sense for them, it has to fall into their paradigm. Otherwise, they would have to take a long hard look in the mirror.

It must be a helluva chicken sandwich. Maybe I’ll try one on my way home from church Sunday morning. Oh, wait …

