Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

“Lunatic fringe, I know you’re out there …”   Sorry, that song was just in my head.

I will not ask if life could be any crazier because of course it can be. That’s how life works. As soon as you open your mouth, life pops in a jawbreaker.

On Tuesday, my supervisor told us in a meeting that we are getting a reputation as the suckiest section in the company. (In this case, apparently, sucking is bad.)  On Wednesday I took part of the day off to take MoC to the doctor and nearly broke my arm on her wheelchair. I have two ugly bruises. It looks like the chair bit me. On the way home, she had to stop at another doctor’s office to pick up samples of a new medication. But MoC’s new caregiver (Joy is on leave for a while) gave me a list of things MoC needs from Walmart and I was thinking about that, so I drove straight to Walmart. Which happens to be in the middle of a back-to-school feeding frenzy. So I did a U-turn (and didn’t get a ticket) and MoC said, “It’s okay. I like going in circles.” Smart. Ass.

When I got to the doctor’s office, MoC said, “The nurse’s name is Jeri. And it’s Dr. Walker.”

So I went in and asked for Jeri. But there is no Jeri there. So I said, “I just need to talk to Dr Walker’s nurse.”

And then she said, “We don’t have a Dr Walker. Is it your primary care doctor? Because we’re pulmonary doctors.”

“Then I’m in the right place, I just have the wrong name. My mom’s name is MoC.”

“Are you the patient?”

(Sigh) “No. I’m here for my mom. Her name is MoC”

So she looks it up and says, “Oh, it’s Dr. Clark.”

Yay. So we got that figured out.

I had to go to the grocery store for MoC today. Mary, the new caregiver, also gave me a grocery list as long as my arm. I have short arms for a human, but for a grocery list, that’s a long list. And I had to pick up more meds. So I jammed the cart full of groceries and went to the pharmacy. She rang up the drugs and that’s when I realized I didn’t have MoC’s check card. So I had to go back to her house, get the card, drive back, get the meds, grab my cart that I had left at the pharmacy, get in line again, pay for the food, drive back, unload it, set up the meds …

And then when I got home, I got a message from my friend Kelly. It said, “Go to this website and check it out.” So I did.

And it changed everything.

The idea is so simple, it’s genius. Plant a simple seed. Go to the site, get a yellow card with a number, do something cool (or at least sort of nice) for someone, give them the card. Go back to the site, tell ‘em what you did, and maybe the person you gave the card to will pass it on as well …

Sometimes I get so caught up in all the crap that’s going on in my life that I forget to stop. I forget that everyone has problems. I forget that we’re all pretty much in this together. So I’m going to email Mary Gina. I’m going to get a card. And I’m going to do something nice for someone. I don’t want it to be a stranger. I want it to be someone I don’t even like very much. Because, the truth is, we all deserve a little kindness. Maybe especially the ones who don’t seem to deserve it very much – maybe they’re struggling even more than we are.

PS If you want a card, email Marygina@fuse.net  Pass it on. Or I’ll kick your ass.

PPS Also? This is my 1000th post, so that means this whole thing is kismet. Or xanadu. One or the other.

