Tags

, , , , ,

I thought I wrote about this when it happened, but if I did, I can’t find it. Which is exactly what I deserve for titling posts with song lyrics and random bits of my mental madness, instead of something that actually pertains to the post. So. Anyway.

Last summer I had to take Fiona to the vet to get her stitches out after I took away her rights over her own body. There was a little girl in the lobby who was so adorable I was immediately charmed – which, if you know me, is NOT an easy feat for anyone under the age of 15 or so. She was about 4 years old and so cute it hurt.

She was very busy checking out all the dogs that were waiting and her mother was on the verge of a panic attack and trying to yell at her without really yelling. She was one of those kids who will be on Ritalin in a year or two, not because she was actually hyperactive, but because she was intelligent and hyper aware and her mom was already at her wits’ end. The kid parked herself in front of me and bombarded with me questions. Her mom half-yelled at her again, but I waved her off and talked to the kid. (I know.)

She told me all about her dog and then started asking about Fiona. Fiona was curled up in a ball at the very back of the carrier, so the kid had her face against the door-latch trying to talk to the cat. Finally she looked up and asked me why the cat wouldn’t talk to her. Yes, that’s what she said. 🙂   I told her Fiona was a little scared because she had to see the doctor.

The kid looked back at the carrier, stuck her face right up against it and said, “It’s okay. I’m not the doctor!”

And in that instant I fell in love and I wanted a kid really, really bad!

Don’t worry. The feeling passed. But it was a pretty close call.

