Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I think it’s funny that every year about this time (the NCAA tournament), I get mad hits on my Kansas sucks post.

This post has nothing to do with Kansas – not the state, not the band, and not the school. You’re welcome.

I was listening to the radio today and heard a song that made me laugh because when it came out (or when I first heard it, depending), I had no idea what the lyrics were about.  So I started making a mental list of songs whose meanings escaped me until I was well past the age to know better (like my mid-twenties). They aren’t all about sex, or drugs, but … well, most of them are 🙂

In no particular order:

  • Lola   –  The Kinks    (I thought this was just a song about a girl who drank champagne that tasted like Coca-cola, c-o-l-a cola)
  • Oh What a Night  –  The Four Seasons
  • Under Pressure –  ZZ Top
  • Pearl Necklace – ZZ Top  (I was about 25 when I was singing along and suddenly the light came on in my brain. No wonder all the boys loved me)
  • Rough Boys – The Who  (No comment. I mean, seriously, how did I not connect the dots on this one?)
  • Looks Like We Made It  – Barry Manilow.  Sorry.  (The line “and all I could taste was love the way we made it” made me think of a big cauldron of soup. Step off, man, I was 10).
  • Double Vision – Foreigner  (“My mind is wasted but my body’s in the lead” and “I’ve lived all of my years in a single minute” didn’t tip me off)
  • Tonight’s the Night – Rod Stewart  (all I knew was that “it’s gonna be all right”)
  • Mr Brownstone – Guns N Roses.  (I hate to admit that I was way past 30 before I realized this song is about heroin. I was just diggin’ the guitar riffs, I wasn’t really listening to the lyrics)
  • Cat’s in the Cradle  – Harry Chapin.  (I just thought this was a sweet song about a little boy)
  • Daniel  –  Elton John (ditto)
  • Slow Ride – Foghat  (“I’m in the mood, the rhythm is right, move to the music, we can roll all night”  What? That’s not about dancing?)

That’s a few of mine – what are some of yours?

And while I’m talking about music, I’d like to take this opportunity to say that while Jim Morrison was a sometimes brilliant lyricist (“There’s a killer on the road, his brain is squirming like a toad” and “sidewalk crouches at her feet, like a dog that begs for something sweet” for starters), he wasn’t really all that deep.  I have a book of his poetry (The Lords and The New Creatures) and it’s just … bad. Incredibly bad.

Here’s part of the blurb from the back cover. “But his verse, like his vocal style, is undeniably his own – that of a talented, committed artist whose description of ourselves and our time echoes across the generation gap with the disturbing ring of truth.”

Yeah … no. He was STONED.

Here are a few of his sentences verses, each set on its own page:

Cure blindness with a whore’s spittle.

The spectator is a dying animal.

Look where we worship.

Objects as they exist in time the clean eye
and camera give us. Not falsified by “seeing.”

The stranger was sensed as greatest menace in ancient communities.

High as shit.

That’s what annoys me the most about elitists – someone says it “echoes across the generation gap” and we believe it and think it’s brilliant. If we don’t understand it, it has to be because we’re too closed-minded or blind to get it.

No. I don’t get it because I grew up and stopped eating drugs.

/rant

