Tags

, , , , , ,

The other half of the 30 Days of Truth question was: What do you think of religion?

I think religious people are some of the most judgmental fuckers on the planet.

There. I said it.

Whenever I hear someone described as “a Christian person” I distrust that person instinctively.

It’s been my experience that Christians who really believe that Jesus is their savior are humble, joyous, forgiving, accepting, loving and almost entirely without judgment for their fellow human beings.  They aren’t pushy, they don’t proselytize, and they don’t resort to emotional blackmail.

Here’s a great example. I’ve seen this on Facebook about a million times – and it has pissed me off about a million times.

Can anyone tell me why is it hard for some to pray? But so easy to cuss? Why is it so hard to repost a Godly bulletin but easy to re-post the gossip? Why can people worship a celebrity but not Jesus Christ? Gonna ignore this? Afraid to get laughed at? Most of you won’t re-post this…The Lord said “if you deny me in front of your friends I will deny you..in front of my father!!” I posted this, will you?

No. I won’t repost it. And because you’re my friend, I won’t berate you for posting that on Facebook so people will think you’re a good person and a deep thinker.  If a person truly believes that only Jesus can save my soul, the way to convince me is probably not with a threat. Not reposting a self-righteous Facebook status does NOT equal denying Jesus. It means you’re a jackwagon.

My spiritual guru was a woman named Verna. She was a very simple person, but one of the wisest people I have ever known. She grew up on a farm in southern Missouri , got married after high school and started having babies. She never had a job outside her home, but that didn’t mean she was naive. Far from it. Verna saw the world clearly and had an uncanny ability to get right to the heart of the matter.

Verna was a Christian, a very devout Christian. We spent countless hours talking about God, about how to live a happy life, about the world, about people, about how to find joy and inner peace.  Not once in all the years I knew her did I hear her say to me or to anyone, “That person needs to get saved” or “He needs to read the Bible” or “She’s not listening to the Lord.”  Never.  If you asked her, she would talk to you as long as you wanted, but she never pushed it on anyone. To her, the mandate that Christians “must confess with their mouth that Jesus is Lord” did not mean beating people over the head with it or knocking on doors to give the message to random sinners.

Verna’s entire life was her confession.

The way she lived, the way she connected with people, the way she listened and actually heard the words, her absolute joy in life was her confession and it drew people to her. I can think of five people who changed their minds about God because of Verna – and that’s off the top of my head. There are probably more.

I’ve noticed that when people find religion, it brings out their most dominant trait. For Verna, it was her humility. For others, it is a gift for listening to a friend. For some, it brings out an obnoxious, arrogant certainty that their way is the only correct way. And for others, it’s just a way to make people like them, to be accepted and to find a level of social status.

So don’t tell me I’m doing it wrong. Don’t tell me I’m a hater if I don’t repost a Facebook status. Don’t tell me that I’m missing the boat.

In fact, just shut up.

