Tags

, , , , , , ,

That’s the song (Ben Folds) that I sing to MoC when she finishes my sentence or nails me with a playful insult. I don’t think there’s anyone who knows absolutely everything about me, but MoC comes closest and Leslie is next. It’s really more of an ability to predict what I’ll do or say because they’ve both known me my entire life – and neither of them jumps to conclusions about me or judges me. That’s the entire key to me, right there. Don’t jump to conclusions and don’t judge me. Given enough time, you’ll know everything you want to know. Now that I think about it, it’s probably the key to just about everyone.

Aside: Two of the girls I work with gave me some gift cards for my birthday – music and books. You can’t go wrong with that. But J said, “We didn’t know what to get. You’re hard to buy for because you never talk about your life outside of work. I know you’re in school and I know you have a blog, but that’s about it.”  Wow. I didn’t realize I was that hard to know.  I don’t know why I just wrote that.

The point was that MoC knows me pretty well – and I know MoC pretty well. At least I thought I did.

Back in November, I bought some Girl Scout cookies because sometimes I can’t say no. I bought Thin Mints because MoC loves them and I thought by the time the order arrived, she would be able to eat them. I was right about that part at least.

I had to work late tonight because I went to work a little later because I had to shovel the driveway and the sidewalk and the steps and the deck 3 times in a 12 hour period. The alley behind my driveway hadn’t been plowed (they never do it. Ever) and so I had some difficulty getting out. Usually I back straight up into my neighbor’s driveway, but his truck was there and he hadn’t shoveled the driveway since the night before. We got 6 to 8 inches of snow, depending on who you believe. So I got the car into the alley and pointed toward the street. Which is when I noticed that the side street had been plowed and there was a mountain of snow at the mouth of the alley. Shit. So I backed up and gunned it. I flew over the mountain and my car went left – I meant to turn right, but I just went with it. And when I got home tonight, my neighbor had shoveled the alley … both the part in front of his driveway and the area where I back out. I’ve decided to forgive him for breaking my car door.

Where was I? Oh, the cookies. I worked late and so I didn’t go visit MoC. I called her instead. She told me she took today to feel sorry for herself and didn’t do therapy. I get it – at least as much as I can. Even though she has made remarkable progress, she did have two more mini-strokes and probably a third (we still dont’ have the results of the MRI). I’d be bummed out, too. But I told her that I had some motivation for her.

MoC: What’s that?

Me: I bought Girl Scout cookies. When you behave and do what you’re supposed to do, I’ll give you a Thin Mint cookie.

MoC: I’ll share them with you.

Me: That’s okay. I don’t like Thin Mints.

MoC: Neither do I.

Me: What? Those are your favorite!!

MoC: No, they’re not. I’ll eat them, though.

Me: Seriously? You don’t like Thin Mints? How is that even possible?

MoC: It wasn’t exactly a secret.

Me: What else haven’t you told me??

MoC:   . . .

Me: Come on, what else?

MoC: You don’t know me at all …

Then she laughed.

It was kind of an evil laugh, actually.

👿

I should probably quit while I’m still breaking even.

Remember when I said there were at least three long posts of stuff I hadn’t said? It’s probably more like 30. I started to write one of them, but I wrote this instead. What I’m thinking about has to do with knowing a person, jumping to conclusions and judgment – and no, it has nothing at all to do with “Bridget.” It’s an idea I’ve been kicking around for a while but it’s still hiding and won’t come out to play just yet.

