Day 9 of 30 Days of Truth is: Someone you didn’t want to let go, but just drifted.

I don’t know if I can finish this list – I’m running out of good answers. As you can see, I’ve maxed out already with my oh-so-clever post title.

Everyone that I want in my life is in my life … unless they left, or I haven’t met them yet. The only person I ever drifted from was Leslie, but since her heart attack we’ve been hanging out again. It’s really sad that something like that had to happen for us to reconnect, but we were able to fix it in time.

When I think about my friends, I always come back to Leslie.  She’s my Meredith Gray*.  Which makes me Christina. A few weeks ago, Meredith said something like “Derek is the love of my life, but you’re my soul mate”  I loved that line. It fits the way I feel about Leslie exactly.

There isn’t anyone on the planet who knows me better. There’s no one else who accepts me so completely. I can tell her anything and she won’t blink. She’ll laugh at me if need be, but she never judges me. She tortures me in the way only a sister can and defends me the way only a best friend can – even when I’m wrong.

The reasons we drifted were kind of silly. Our lives were very different for a while. We said some things we shouldn’t have said and didn’t talk for a while. There was always something missing, though, something I never identified until we stopped being foolish and started talking again.

Life is too short to let people drift away.

*Gray’s Anatomy. Try to keep up with prime time television, will you?

