Tags

, , , , , , ,

Welcome to Day 2 of 30 days of truth. I’m probably going to stretch this out for more than 30 days because I don’t think I can stand to write about my deepest, darkest secrets for 30 straight (so to speak) days, but so far I’ve got 2 in a row. I think that can safely be considered a streak. And since I’m not doing NaNoWriMo this month because I forgot on purpose, I will consider this meme to be my writing exercise for the entire year.

Day 2’s question is: Something you love about yourself.

Um, everything? πŸ˜†

I love the fact that I am able to not freak out about things I can’t control – mostly. I’m still a little obsessive but as I’ve gotten older, I’ve mellowed quite a bit. Maybe a better way to phrase it would be that I have learned not only what I can control, but what is actually worth having control over.

I don’t worry about what other people do at work – I can’t control that. I don’t worry about the weather – it’s out of my hands. I don’t fret over the “fairness” of life, or work, or politics – none of it is fair and it’s not within my power to make it fair. The older I get, the less I care about what you do that I can’t do and what you have that I don’t have. Most of all, I care less and less about what other people think of me. It’s not that I want you to have a bad opinion of me, but I’ve realized that if you do, it’s more your problem than mine.

I love that I can be myself and not apologize for it, feel ashamed of it or worry what you think about it. I love that I know what is important to me and that I cultivate those things (and people) without compromise. I love that I will fight not only for my right to be wrong, but yours as well. And I probably won’t judge you for it.

Much.

