Tags

, , , ,

I get it.

I was never bullied in school because I didn’t have the guts to come out back then, but I get it. I thought something was wrong with me and it haunted me for a decade before I could face it. Even then, it took another ten years for me to be able to accept myself. So I get it.

All the misery, all the drinking, all the drugs, all the angst and yes, all the boys/men – all of it was because I felt different, because I thought being gay was a mental disorder, because I felt that I was broken in some fundamental way.  There was no one I could talk to, no one who would’ve gotten it. I survived it, but I didn’t feel normal. I never felt okay. I didn’t feel good about myself until my late 30’s.

When enough people finally say “Enough” – maybe then we can help our kids. Because I can’t help but think, “What if it were my kid?” If it were my kid, I’d want you to get it.

Love is Louder

 

