Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve been listening to some tracks from Eminem’s newest album (do they call them albums anymore? Ooops). Rap has never been my favorite and sometimes Eminem’s rhythm is awkward, but there is something compelling about him. Maybe it’s his epic anger that I find so fascinating. He just radiates angst and he is uncomfortably honest sometimes. It’s like a car wreck – you can’t look away even though you know it’s rude to stare.

I got an ear worm from listening to “Love the Way You Lie” – because he was smart enough to start the song with Rihanna’s hook. I fell into it because I loved the refrain – “just gonna stand there and watch me burn, but that’s all right because I like the way it hurts” – and then I listened to the rest of the words. Damn. We’ve probably all had a relationship like that; maybe it wasn’t physically violent, but we’ve all experienced that volatile push/pull,explosive, intense relationship. And if you haven’t experienced that, you’re probably entirely normal and shouldn’t be reading my blog. My relationship with the New York Ex was like that, intense and fiery and doomed.

It’s hard for me to listen to the song. But then I saw the video. Holy. Crap. Holy. Fucking. Crap.

