Tags

, , , , ,

Know that old saying, “be careful what you wish for”? It comes in many forms, like  “what goes around comes around” and “if wishes and buts were candy and nuts, we’d all have a merry Christmas.”  Okay, that last one was a favorite of my Uncle Bud’s, but I thought I’d toss it in the mix anyway. He also said “if the dog hadn’t stopped to take a shit, he would’ve caught the rabbit” which I had occasion to use yesterday, but that’s not the point.

The point is … what you put out there will come back to you someday, in some unexpected way. That’s why I make an effort to be secretly hopeful while maintaining my cantankerous Capricorn reputation.

Last night my cable went out. Again. I’m in a good mood, so I won’t go find the posts I’ve written about the evil cable company and their inability to find a twisted wire that caused me problems for three years. But I digress. The cable went out and I called and found out I hadn’t paid my bill. Don’t judge me. I forgot, you ever forget something? Back off, man. The rep told me that when the charge went through, the service would automatically be restored. Really? No 3 day wait for a technician? What’s the catch?? Come on, it’s me and it’s the cable company.

I paid the bill. Three minutes later, I heard voices that weren’t in my head – they were from the television. Awesome! When I talked to MoC, she said, “See? Things are getting better all the time.”   If I were being honest, I would have to admit that the last few years have been some of the best of my life because things are finally coming together in ways I wasn’t smart enough to hope for. But the Capricorn in me isn’t so sure …

Today at work, I hit a mental wall. I hit it hard. I was feeling frustrated and lost and I couldn’t understand a concept that shouldn’t have been especially difficult. I went to lunch and sat in the sun to gather myself.

I told you all of that just to tell you this:  Remember when I drew this?

Yeah. That happened. To me.

The day wasn’t a total loss, though. I discovered that when a bird shits on your head, your day probably isn’t going to get any worse.

