Tags

, , , , , , ,

This is disturbing on so many levels that I can’t even wrap my mind around it. Also, it’s 7am and I’m still half-asleep. Read the article, I’ll wait here. Just read the first couple paragraphs – that ought to be enough to give you chills.

Lieberman, are you serious? I thought you were one of the good guys. Basically the bill would give the president the authority to stop the flow of information to Americans by requiring the ISPs to shut down when completely undefined criteria are met. The arrogance of these bastards is simply astounding. The name of the bill is Protecting Cyberspace as a National Asset Act.  It is not a national asset. It doesn’t belong to the United States. It doesn’t belong to me. It is the one thing that is truly global and it should remain that way. It’s what separates us from … oh, I don’t know … Communist China …

Any company on a list created by Homeland Security that also “relies on” the Internet, the telephone system, or any other component of the U.S. “information infrastructure” would be subject to command by a new National Center for Cybersecurity and Communications (NCCC) that would be created inside Homeland Security.

Newsflash: Every individual, every group, every company relies on the Internet and/or the telephone network. Every. Single. One.

The NCCC also would be granted the power to monitor the “security status” of private sector Web sites, broadband providers, and other Internet components. Lieberman’s legislation requires the NCCC to provide “situational awareness of the security status” of the portions of the Internet that are inside the United States — and also those portions in other countries that, if disrupted, could cause significant harm.

What is the NCCC? It will be the brand new National Center for Cybersecurity and Communications office that would be created by Homeland Security. Uncle Joe Lieberman has been a busy boy.

God save me from those who would save me from myself!

