Tags

, , , , , , , ,

You would think that not having a job would be like a long vacation. You don’t have to get up in the morning; you don’t have to be anywhere; you can do what you want. All of that is certainly true, but there is a little bit of stress that goes with it. Like, oh-crap-if-I-don’t-find-something-soon-I’m-going-to-have-to-live-with-MoC.

Thursday I got the news that another job I’d interviewed for had been filled. I don’t know if I’m asking for too much money (and believe me, I’m not asking for a lot), or if I’m blowing the interview somehow (or the personality test), or if other applicants are just more qualified. So I emailed the guy back. I told him that it was only my second interview (which was true) and asked him if there was something that I could improve about my interview style or the overall process. He actually emailed me! This is what he said:

With the economy the way it is right now, we had tons of responses. It was a hard decision, but the other person had other experience that will facilitate some projects not directly related to the position. You have a good attitude, so keep your head up and eyes open and something good will happen.

It made me feel so much better and that someone, somewhere, actually will give me a chance. Let’s just hope it’s soon.

But that’s not what I was going to write about. I was going to say that the stress of unemployment is now making me a little cranky. The fact that it snowed another 6 inches (that’s 15.24 centimeters for my metric friends) has not helped. Last night I decided to watch New Moon, which should have been available beginning at midnight on 3/20 (which was Friday night – or Saturday morning to be specific). At 8:30 Saturday, it still wasn’t there. I was staring at the spot it should have been, between “My Sister’s Keeper” and “Night at the Museum 2.” I called the cable company to yell at them, but I was on hold for half an hour and I gave up. I just wanted to hear their explanation and I couldn’t wait for them to tell me that it wouldn’t be available until midnight so that I could point out that at midnight, it would be the 21st. Then I was going to ask them why their marketing department was unable to tell time.

I had planned on staying up until midnight to see the movie magically appear (a day late) … but I gave up and went to bed. This morning, it still wasn’t available. What? I contemplated calling again and while I did that, I scrolled through the movie list.

That’s when I saw it. “Twilight: New Moon.”

Whoops.

For the first time in my life I was actually glad I was too impatient to sit on hold.

PS If you know where I got the title of this post from, without looking it up, you would be a formidable Trivial Pursuit opponent.

