Tags

, , , , , ,

Oh yes, I did.

I decided to do NaNoWriMo (national novel writing month) this year. After I finished Rachel’s Risk, I kicked around another idea. I made some notes and even wrote a few pages and then it got buried. For a decade. LOL

The idea isn’t new (no idea ever really is), but I like it. I like it a lot. So I’m going to write 50,000 words  in 30 days and see what happens. Hey, Stephen King does it all the time, so it’s not like it’s impossible. Every year I come up with excuses. It’s too much work. It’s too much pressure to write at least 1600 words a day – every day – for a whole month. I’m too busy with school. I’m too tired from work (can’t use that excuse this year).

I may not make it. But if I don’t, so what? It will be a good start on a story I’ve wanted to tell for a long time. I’m just going to write. I can edit in December. Writing and editing simultaneously is my biggest problem, so if I have to, I will turn off the monitor and just type until my fingers go numb. I will post it periodically on my other blog that no one reads: Risk Exile.

For now, here’s how it ended.

I didn’t see the body until I tripped over it. It was dark, with only a sliver of moonlight shining through the trees, and I was running, trying to stay ahead of the Executioner. At first I thought it was a fallen tree branch, but it gave, like a beanbag, when my foot hit it and I almost fell. The first thing I saw when I looked down was all the blood. I remember thinking those bastards were playing another prank.

Until I saw the face. The head was in a lake of blood and there was a terrible dent in the skull where it had been crushed like a can. I had never seen a dead body before, except on t.v.,  but believe me, it is not the same. I was six inches away from someone who had been alive just an hour ago – someone I was friends with. I did the only thing I could.

I ran.

