Tags

, , , , , , ,

When I was a little kid, I had a terrible nightmare about a vampire-looking man who was going to kill me. I had that dream so often that I can still recall most of the details. I can still see it. The vampire dream scarred me and is probably one of the reasons the show Dark Shadows frightened me beyond reason. Also, my sisters and brother tortured me and made me watch it every day after school.

In my teens, I had a dream about being in a war zone, hiding behind a wall with bombs dropping all around me. The war dream, with minor variations, occurred until I was in my twenties. Which was not that long ago.

I believe in dreams. I believe they can have real meaning and can give us guidance or at least some insight into what’s going on “behind the scenes” in our lives. I also think that most dreams don’t mean anything at all.

Last night I had nightmares for the first time in ages. I will probably always be prone to them – I’m a restless soul, I think – but for the most part, my demons have been slain. You know how you have a dream and you wake up and think it’s over but then when you go back to sleep the dream starts where you left off? Or the kind of dream that doesn’t seem quite the same as the one you just woke yourself up from, but still, even though the scene is different and the people are different, you know it’s the same damn dream? Those dreams – the persistent suckers – are the ones that I think actually mean something. And that’s the way it was last night – all night long. I’d get rid of one dream and the next one would pick up right where it left off.

I dreamed the Shrew was ill and Bosshole took her to the hospital. I have no idea what those two were doing in my dream. Bosshole wanted me to follow them to the hospital and even though I was thinking, “It’s the Shrew. I don’t really care if she’s in pain” I followed them anyway. So part of the dream was driving.

According to dreammoods.com, “To dream that you are driving a vehicle, signifies your life’s journey and your path in life. The dream is telling of how you are moving and navigating through life. If you are driving and cannot see the road ahead of you, then it indicates that you do not know where you are headed in life and what you really want to do with yourself.”

I could see the road, but I lost sight of Bosshole’s car and so I just drove to a hospital. The next part of the dream I was walking around trying to find them. To see or dream that you are in a hospital, symbolizes your need to heal or improve your physical or mental health. You need to get back to the flow of everyday life.

Okay, but I wasn’t really in the hospital, I was just at the hospital.

Then I woke myself up, because I was bored with it. One of my former shrinks told me that waking up in the middle of the night was a sign of depression. I told her it usually just meant I had to pee, but she didn’t see it my way. I guess peeing is depressing, too.

Anyway, I went back to sleep and that’s when the really weird shit started. I dreamed that I was in a diner that faced a state highway.

To see a highway in your dream, represents your sense of direction and your life’s path. Consider the conditions of the highway which will reveal how much you feel in charge of your life. A smooth, straight highway signifies inner peace, while a winding, bumpy road reflects emotional distress/disharmony.

We already covered that with the “driving” interpretation. All I could see out the front windows of the diner was a section of the highway and the headlights coming toward me.

To see a car’s headlights in your dream, indicates your inability to look beyond the past. You are dwelling on old issues.

Okay, but what about the diner?

To dream that you are in a restaurant, suggests that you are feeling overwhelmed by decisions/choices that you need to make in your life. Alternatively, it indicates that you are seeking for emotional nourishment outside of your social support system.

Technically, the restaurant was closed and I was hiding out – I wasn’t looking at the lunch menu.

To dream that you are hiding, suggests that you are keeping some secret or withholding some information. You may not be facing up to a situation or not want to deal with some issue.

I was with three other people that I didn’t know. Three people who were still alive. My partners in crime, I guess. At the back of the dining room were several other people who had been shot in the head.

To see a stranger in your dream, symbolizes the part of yourself that is repressed and hidden.

Fantastic. What about the dead strangers?

To see a corpse in your dream, represents an aspect of yourself that has died. Or it may mean that you are unexpressive. You have shut yourself down and are dead inside.

Now that sounds like depression.

I don’t think I shot anyone, but it wasn’t clear because I had a gun. To see a revolver in your dream, symbolizes lingering danger. It also represents fear, anger and aggression. You are using your power to defend yourself against the fear and anger. It may also indicate your hot and quick temper.

I don’t remember the rest, only that it was relentless. I was on the run, but I didn’t know where I was going and it wasn’t clear what I was running from, other than the dead bodies in the diner and the murders I may or may not have committed.

To dream that you have committed a murder, indicates that you are putting an end to an old habit and your former ways of thinking. This could also mean an end to an addiction. Note also that dreams of murder occur frequently during periods of depression.

Seriously? Because I usually only wake up once to pee.

