math2Right. Me, too. The only difference is, you can look at that and walk away. I have to be able to solve it. Which is why I’ve been scarce. I spend my days crying working on algebra problems and my evenings sobbing learning Cisco networking. I’m upside down. I get home after 11pm – and I’m wound up, so I can’t sleep. I stay up until 1 or 2am, get up by 8am, spend at least 6 hours cursing working on homework and then go to school again. It still leaves me a few hours in the afternoon, but frankly, I don’t want to spend that time thinking of ways to entertain you. I know. I’m selfish.

Despite my weight issues, I am vain. Very vain. About a month ago, I broke a tooth. It was one I had planned on fixing as soon as I got a new job, but then it broke. And there was no way I was going to walk around with a hole in my smile – even if it was kind of hard to see. So I went to the dentist and spent half my savings on dental work. That was all kinds of fun.  A couple weeks ago, I had an appointment to get the permanent crown placed. Only it was really fat and it didn’t feel right.

I told the dentist it was too big and didn’t match my other teeth. He said something (jokingly) about diversity. So I (jokingly) said I was against diversity and that I especially didn’t want diversity in my mouth.

He blinked.

I blinked.

Then I said, “Just let it go. Please.”  Jeeez!

I went back yesterday – and it still didn’t fit correctly. But yesterday I wasn’t in the mood for jokes. An overdose of stress and a lack of sleep stole my sense of humor.  Yesterday, I wanted to kill someone. Anyone. A few years ago, I would have let my bad mood abuse anyone I came in contact with.  As I walked in the office, the receptionist chirped at me. She almost died right there, but I managed a smile.

The dental assistant told me (very nicely) that they probably couldn’t whittle the tooth down any further because it would compromise the porcelain and that I’d probably have to get used to it.  My control slipped just slightly. I told her (very nicely) that for the money I had paid (in CASH), I shouldn’t have to get used to it.

The dentist came in and told me the same thing. I just repeated that it was uncomfortable and then I used a MoC trick. I just looked at him until he gave in. Not glaring, not scowling, just  a look that said, “Gee whiz, I’m really uncomfortable and you’re the only one who can fix it. Please say you can fix it.”   And he did.

Today’s lesson is, if you smile and are patiently, gently persistent, you can get anyone to do just about anything. In other words, you can take your diversity and shove it up your … oh, wait. That’s probably not a good idea, either.

