Tags

, , ,

I usually stay away from politics here because I would prefer not to fight a war every day. 🙂 But this article was so appalling to me that I thought I would share it with you. In the interest of full disclosure, I was not a Kennedy fan – I was (and am) indifferent to them as a family and as a political machine. That said, I do think that it’s possible to redeem yourself after a tragic event. Maybe Chappaquiddick changed Ted. Maybe it didn’t, I really couldn’t say.

But I can say that I am 100% positive that Mary Jo Kopechne didn’t think “it was worth it.”

Articles like this one are the real reason I refuse to discuss politics – because the participants in the discussion are absolute lunatics, on both sides of the aisle. You can’t debate crazy. The idea that Kopechne would somehow think it was okay that Ted Kennedy left her to die and only took responsibility after her body was found, that it was for the good of the country, is disgusting.

Some reports say that due to an air pocket that would have formed, Kopechne could have lived up to two hours after the accident. When I weigh those two hours against a Senate career, I cannot see how anyone could say that it balances and to suggest that it does is abhorrent.

