Tags

, , , , , , ,

Is everything a race issue? Now the movie Transformers has racial overtones? Seriously? We’ve been reduced to this? Apparently two minor characters (robots) in the movie downloaded information from the Internet and then formed speech patterns from that – and ended up kind of gangster. Here’s what the (black) actor said:

“It’s an alien who uploaded information from the Internet and put together the conglomeration and formed this cadence, way of speaking and body language that was accumulated over X amount of years of information and that’s what came out,” the 40-year-old actor said. “If he had uploaded country music, he would have come out like that.”

It’s not fair to assume the characters are black, he said.

“It could easily be a Transformer that uploaded Kevin Federline data,” Wilson said. “They were just like posers to me.”

So the actor didn’t think anything of it, but someone might be offended.  I thought Obama’s election ended the race question. I thought a vote for Obama settled it – that a vote for him meant everything was cool now. Since America gave him a landslide, I thought we weren’t racist anymore. What about Justice Thomas, and about-to-be-confirmed Sotomayor? What about Colin Powell and Chris Rock and Will Smith and Bill Cosby? Hell, we let OJ go – wasn’t that good enough?

These kinds of stories just make my head explode. America can’t get past race because the media keeps stirring it up and looking for motives that don’t exist. Then the people reading those stories – kind, honest people who aren’t racist – start questioning their own motives and second-guessing everything they do.

Or the media completely ignore someone who actually is stirring the racial pot. Jeremiah Wright anyone? How about a dose of racial poison in the name of God? Yet the media didn’t go after him until they were forced to – and Obama didn’t distance himself until it was politically impossible for him to stay in that church. But it’s okay if it comes from that side of the racial divide, right?

The problem is never going to go away – it’s like a zit we just keep picking at. Is it getting better? Is it gone? Is the Clearasil working? We never give it a chance to heal.

About 18 months ago, I got into a very heated argument with the racist asshole I used to work with. (Click the link; it’s worth a read)  A few months ago I said something (don’t remember what) that brought up politics again. Yeah, I know. I never learn. Anyway she said, “That’s weird. I thought you voted for Obama.” I guess it’s weird when someone stands up for what is right – even when they disagree with the person they’re defending. It didn’t seem weird to me at all. It seemed like the right thing to do. And I happen to believe there are more people like me than there are people like the Racist Asshole.

Maybe I’ll go see Transformers this weekend and see if I can find any other hidden social agendas in the plot. Is there a gay or lesbian Transformer? No? Why not? Oh my God!

REPRESENT!

