This started out as a post I didn’t finish. Then it turned into another post, which will lead to yet another post soon.

Have you ever noticed when someone tells you a big fat whopper, they hesitate and drag it out? There’s usually a big silence and then they drop “the truth” on you. It can go something like, “Cap. It’s not you. It’s ………….. me.” Or “It’s not that you’re dressed inappropriately ….…….. it’s the economy.” But when someone wants to slip something by you, they do it fast. If you listen closely, you can hear a slight hesitation. Those words? They’re always gospel (at least as the speaker believes it’s gospel) and they’re hardly ever good.

Yesterday I applied for a field tech job – like geek squad, only not. I kind of got hoodwinked into it – I got an email about the position and when I emailed back and asked if there were in-house positions, the guy emailed back and told me to go in and apply. So I did. But I’ve been fighting this weird edema for two weeks – the only time my feet, ankles and legs aren’t swollen to twice their normal size is at night when I’m sleeping and immediately upon waking. I told you that so I could tell you this: I can’t wear dress shoes right now. I didn’t think it would matter because I was only putting in the application; it wasn’t an interview. Ha. Ha. I know better than that.  It’s always an interview.  I put on a pair of jeans, a nice shirt and the only shoes that fit that weren’t tennis shoes – big clunky sandals.

I called MoC as I was driving there and told her what I was wearing – and got that noticeable hesitation. “Well if you can’t wear your shoes …… it’s fine.” I walked into the store and was greeted by the manager who was wearing slacks and a dress shirt. Crap. He set me up on the computer to complete the application and take the test (List 4 ways to get into the BIOS. Um. There’s more than one?) While I was taking the test, he called someone and offered them a job. I heard him say, “Business casual, so what you were wearing was fine. Dress shoes are fine, boots are okay.” CRAP.

When I finished the test, I thanked him and asked him what the next step was. That’s when I got the long hesitation before he lied to me. He said, “I have some other people to test and then we’ll make a decision ………….. you’ll hear from me by the end of the week.”

Crap to the 2nd power. The first crap because I blew it. The second crap because MoC was right. Again. (Even though she didn’t say anything).

I talked to MoC later. We go to the same guy for our hair and he’s become a good friend of ours. Really, more MoC’s than mine … I think they kind of adopted each other. Last year he had colon cancer and at the beginning of this year, it looked like he was completely recovered and cancer-free. Then he got pneumonia. Yesterday MoC told me that Ron was finally out of the hospital. Then I heard a slight hesitation. I probably only caught it because I know her, but in that one nanosecond I knew that what was coming next wasn’t going to be good. She said the cancer had spread and that he was too sick to do any treatment.

This morning she told me that Ron’s partner called and said she should probably come by today. There was a tiny silence and then she  said, “I don’t want to go. I know that’s terrible. He’s dying. I’m not dying, I’m just being selfish.”

So I went with her. We weren’t in time. Ron passed away 15 minutes before we arrived. I actually consider this Ron’s fault. He knows I’m 15 minutes late for everything.  (Long pause)  But at least my hair looked good, so I wouldn’t have embarrassed him.

Peace, Ron.

