It’s only been a week. Five days, really. I’ve been all over the job boards trying to find the perfect job – or at least a good job with a company that would be willing to train me. I’m smart. I’m capable. And darn it, people like me.

I have a call in to a placement agency but I haven’t gotten a response. I got a lead from a Facebook friend but he isn’t sure the company is even hiring. MS did call Lynn for me, but Lynn hasn’t called her back.

Yesterday I put in an app for a job I thought sounded right up my alley. Plus it was an entry-level position, so I thought I would have an excellent chance. I emailed my resume, but first I had to consent to a background check. Given my checkered past, that can be a little scary, but … it’s not like I was actually convicted of anything. I cried and the judge let me go, but that’s another story for another day.

Dear Cap,

After carefully reviewing the qualifications and background of the candidate pool for Customer Support Technician I, we find that we are unable to offer you a position at this time.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to consider you for a position with Midwest Institute of People Who Already Have Jobs.   We wish you the best of luck in your pursuit of employment opportunities.

Regards,

Midwest Institute of People Who Already Have Jobs

I received that within 30 minutes. They didn’t even bother to find out that I’m batshit crazy – they just rejected me out of hand. There are many, many reasons I would not be a good fit for that company but they didn’t bother to find out even one of them, the lazy bastards. It’s insulting.

