Tags

, , , , ,

I found this yesterday and forgot to post it. Luckily for all of us, no one proofreads at Yahoo, so I can still share it here. Maybe I should contact Yahoo. Or Ohio State. Apparently, they are both in dire need of my mad skillz.

The article discusses a study that found that students who use Facebook have lower grades than non-users. The second sentence made me laugh out loud – although to be completely honest,  I did not spew coffee on my keyboard.

However, it does raise more questions about how students spend their time outside class on activities such as Facebook, part-time jobs and extracurricular activities.

“I’m just saying that there’s some kind of relationship there, and there’s many third variables that need to be studied,” said Aryn Karpinski, an education researcher at Ohio State University.

Education research, like any type of research, is not for the weak, lazy or timid. Researchers have to be bold, courageous and diligent. Otherwise, many third variables could skew the results.

