One nice thing about not working is that I don’t have to get up at a certain time. One bad thing about not working is that I don’t have to get up at a certain time. I’ve tried to keep to a schedule because it helps me not be completely lazy and keeps my house from becoming a trash pit. Well, getting up and getting dressed keeps me from wallowing in the pit. It doesn’t actually make me a tidy person.

I couldn’t sleep last night. Even TRC’s loud rumbling purrs didn’t help – and that’s the happiest, most relaxing sound ever. Just as I was drifting off, I heard a beep. My phone? No, I turned it off.

Then I heard it again. My computer? No. The television? No, I turned the sound down. I drifted for a moment. BEEP. Someone using an electronic device to pick the locks on my front door? Nah. Even though I do have a cool new laptop (that I’m typing on right now), I don’t think it’s worth the trouble of breaking into my house with cutting-edge technology. BEEP.

Ah, smoke alarm! I was still groggy so I took a moment to determine that my house was not actually on fire. Because it was dark and I’m blind without my glasses (that still need an adjustment – pictures later. I promise), and because I have no sense of smell because I smoked for half my life, I determined there was no fire by checking the cat’s position. She wasn’t under the bed or in the closet or clawing my face off. She hadn’t moved from her spot by my hip (and now she’s napping on the arm of the couch right next to me). That was good news because I didn’t feel like running outside in my underwear, at midnight, in 40 degree weather. I reserve that for summer. Think I can use this as an animal hero story on the animal rescue site?

Now that it’s too late to make it a short story, I’ll say that the battery was dying so I took it out and finally got to sleep.

THE END

