Tags

, , , , ,

The morning of the interview, Thursday, I told MoC I felt weird about it but I didn’t know why. It wasn’t a bad feeling, just odd. She told me it was nerves. When I got there, I had to run into the restroom to wait for my glasses to de-purple-ize. Remind me not to get transition lenses next time I buy glasses. Despite the slight delay, I was still early.

I had to take a series of tests, including writing a business letter, an industry jargon test, a math test with a 10-key and a number matching test, which I had to look at a series of numbers and dollar amounts to determine if they matched. I had a headache at the end of it. The business letter was easy and they were thrilled with it. They gave me a set of circumstances and information to use for the basis of the letter. The administrative assistant emphasized several times that they were looking for grammar and spelling issues rather than getting each detail correct – so I just did both. I had 20 minutes for that – it took 8 to finish, including a last-minute edit.

The 10-key almost made me cry. I use a calculator every day, but a 10-key is a different animal. The operation keys are completely different. If I just had to add a set of numbers, I would have been fine. But I had to add, subtract and then take a percentage of that number. That doesn’t sound hard, does it? It’s not, if you know what you’re doing. It took me half the time to figure out that in order to subtract, I had to add the numbers and then hit the minus key. I spent most of my time doing it on my calculator and then trying to make the 10-key match my calculator. Grrr.

The interview was not what I expected. I met with the supervisor and she just told me about the job. She didn’t ask me any of those crazy ‘behavioral interview’ questions like, “Tell me about a problem you have had with a coworker and how you resolved it.” Then I met with the branch manager and he didn’t ask me any of those type of questions, either. One of the first things he asked me was, “I see on your resume you’re pursuing your Bachelor’s degree in IT. When you finish it in a year are you going to look for an IT job?”
Um … yes?

There are four women there I used to work with at my company – and one woman I used to work with at my last job. It’s a very small world. One of the four women is the racist asshole.

We’ve gone out a few times after work to have drinks and since I’ve been so isolated, I kind of ignored some of her behavior. I spoke with her later that evening after the interview. I told her what happened with Bosshole and the resume. She said, “Bosshole is nigger dumb.” What? I don’t even know what that means. I was instantly enraged. We’ve gotten into it before about her racism, but this time I didn’t say anything. What went through my mind was, “I might get this job and if I piss her off, she won’t talk to me. The office is too small (literally) to start off with someone hating me.” And that made me even angrier. Why should I have to put up with that kind of ignorant bullshit? Then I was mad at myself for letting it go because of a potential job. I felt like I had let myself down and sold out, in a way.

The interview went well, but they are interviewing people next week, too. I have an excellent chance, though. The thing is … I’m not sure I want it. The supervisor asked me what kind of salary I was looking for and before I could answer, she told me she could probably match what I’m making now. Really? That’d be nice.

On the other hand … every time I think about taking a similar job, I just want to cry. It makes my stomach hurt. I want to be in IT. I know I’ll have to take a cut in pay, but I would be so much happier that the money is (almost) irrelevant. Plus, there is a niche in IT that I could get into that would fit very well with the job experience I already have. If I could get into that type of job, I wouldn’t take a cut, I’d get a raise.

I plan to take the A+ course the third week in March – and if I got this job, I would take that week off. Once I pass the certification exam, how fair is it to them to immediately start looking for another job? MoC calls it “survival” and she has a point, but … I just don’t think that’s cool. Sometimes things just happen and a person leaves after a month on the job, but to do it on purpose seems underhanded to me.

The office is very small and cramped. When the supervisor took me around, I stood in the middle of the aisle and could reach out and touch the desks on either side. That’s too close. There is no privacy.

I got online last night and found a page and a half of help desk jobs. I sincerely believe that once I get the certification I won’t have any trouble getting a job. Griggs told me she’s giving my resume to her manager – I have mixed feelings about that. I love the company and to work there would be a dream. If I could work there two years, I could go anywhere I wanted. Literally. On the other hand, she’s been in so much trouble because of her attitude (because of her personal life) that I’m not sure I want anyone there to think we are friends. Yes, I realize how cold and shallow that sounds. Sue me.

So. I don’t know what I want to do if this company offers me the job. I did tell the supervisor about the A+ course and she said it would be no problem. So I could start, work two weeks, take a week off for the course, take the exam and have a job until I found an IT job. Or.

I could take 2 weeks off, take the course, get the certification, collect unemployment, and apply for the IT jobs that I really want.

