Tags

I’ve threatened to do NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) for two years – and this year it is not an idle threat.  I don’t know that I’ll finish in a month, since my classes start on the 19th, but … I’m doing it. The goal is 50,000 words in 30 days. That’s only 1600 words a day, which seems like a lot. But I’ve blogged that in a day – and I’ve certainly written that much in my journal.

If you’ve bothered to read my “about” page, then you know I wrote a young adult book. You also know it wasn’t published, but what you may not know is that I think it was definitely publishable. It wasn’t the greatest novel ever written; nor was it the greatest thing I’ve ever written. But it was decent. Parts of it were brilliant, even if I have to say so myself.

I sent it out a few times and didn’t get a nibble. Then I gave up and put it away, but I started thinking of another story. It’s the reason I wandered through the cemetery taking pictures last spring. I can see the characters. I can see one scene in particular. Other than that, I don’t have a damn clue where the story will go.

Maybe November will tell me.

I should get started. I’m already down one day.

Edit:  One of my all-time favorite posts – Navy Reject –  is linked in the “related posts” section (you can see it when you click on comments). I’m too lazy to repost it now, but you should read it for a giggle.

