Tags

,

I have flex time at work, so I can arrive any time between 6:30 and 8am, as long as I work 8 hours. I try to get there at 6:30, so I can leave early. That means I am usually in bed by 10pm, but sometimes (like last night) it’s a lot later. To get to work by 6:30, I have to get up between 4:30 and 5:00 am. I told you all of that so I could tell you this. At 3 o’fuckingclock this morning the replacement cat decided to play.

By pouncing on me. Repeatedly. Then she would jump off the bed and throw herself at my closet door. Repeatedly. Then she would go back to pouncing. Then she would go back to attacking her reflection. After that, she crawled up to my chin, curled up into an adorable puddle of fur and purred. Really loudly, so I couldn’t sleep.

Since I’ve been on a quest to lose weight, I’ve been looking into new recipes. I found a good one today and I’m going to try it tonight. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

CHUNKY KITTEN CACCIATORE

Combine the following to coat kitten:
1/2 c. flour
1/2 tsp. garlic salt
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. black pepper
1/4 tsp. paprika

1 kitten, cut in serving pieces, dredged in flour mixture

1/4 – 1/3 c. olive oil
2 medium yellow onions, sliced or chopped
1 green pepper, sliced or chopped
4-5 cloves garlic, sliced or crushed
2-3 medium tomatoes, chopped
2-3 celery ribs, sliced
2 8 oz. cans tomato sauce
1/2 tsp. oregano
1/4 tsp. pepper
1/2 tsp. garlic salt
1/2 tsp. salt

After kitten is coated with the flour mixture, brown in hot oil and add the remaining ingredients. Simmer together until the kitten is done.

If needed, use the left-over flour mixture to thicken the sauce.
Serve over hot cooked spaghetti or fettucine, with salad and garlic bread.

For a variation you can cut the kitten into bite sized pieces before you start.

