I don’t know the technical differences between microbursts, straight-line winds and tornadoes. All I know is I slept through two severe storms – one last week and one last night. Last night’s performance was spectacular by all reports. Like I said, I wouldn’t know. I was dreaming about … whatever I dream about, if I could remember my dreams. I’m pretty sure I did not dream of getting stabbed or getting fired – and that can’t be a bad thing.

When I left for work this morning, I didn’t see any terrible damage – like the tree laying on my car, which always worries me in storms because I have to park close to it – and so I went on my merry way. When I arrived at work, I saw several people standing around outside the building. I could only conclude that aliens had landed and were making their command headquarters in our building. As it turned out, lightning had hit the building and there was no power; that’s not nearly as exciting as my alien theory (and I had a few people in mind for the classic alien anal probe, too). They finally got the lights on but the servers were fried so I couldn’t work.

I turned on my trusty MP3 player, turned on the radio and learned that a couple businesses had been destroyed – pretty much in MoC’s backyard. So I called to make sure she was okay – and she was. A little storm isn’t gonna bother her. She mentioned her roof was leaking but didn’t see any damage.

After a few hours of no computer and not being able to do anything but file (which I normally don’t mind, but can’t stand the thought of 8 hours of nothing but mind-numbing busy-work), we got word that we could leave if we wanted. I thought about it for a nano-second.

I went to MoC’s place to kidnap her and drove straight into this …

storm3 storm2
storm1 storm4

This is MoC’s idea of not very much damage. To be fair, though, her building had minimal damage compared to the other buildings in the complex.

But of course I didn’t have my camera with me. By the time MoC and I went to my place to get the camera, stopped to have lunch and came back, this was all that was left and the rest was cleaned up. That taught me to take my camera with me everywhere. At the restaurant, I saw a “one way” street sign laying on the ground, with the ‘one way’ arrow pointing at the sidewalk. It looked cool and I reminded myself to take a picture of it on the way out. When we came out an hour later, it was gone. Argh. That taught me to take the shot when I see it.

Maybe I’ll get more devastation shots tomorrow.

The winds are picking up again.

