Thank Gawd for Dawg or I wouldn’t have known yesterday was National Day of Silence, sponsored by the Gay Lesbian and Straight Education Network (GLSEN). It is supposed to bring attention to the bullying that some Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgendered (GLBT) kids suffer. I talked all day yesterday – I hope my ignorance didn’t ruin the entire project. Like Dawg, I’m a little confused about the point – and I don’t really care, which makes me a bad person and will get me kicked out of the lesbian community if I could ever actually get in the community – so I will let his post stand on its own.

My punishment for talking during National Day of Silence (NDOS – because we need more stupid acronyms) was a trip to the dentist. When he finished, I felt like I got punched in the mouth and I had a fat lip, which sort of made me look like I got punched in the mouth. I can’t believe I’ve actually paid this man to hurt me. But next month I will have pretty teeth again and that will be worth all the pain. The whitening gel has made my teeth so sensitive that anything I touch, any friction at all, gives me that nails-on-a-chalkboard feeling. It sounds weird, but trust me … I want to cry every time I have to touch anything, especially fabric or paper.

My company has a very small work-out room that I never used because there wasn’t any equipment in it. Last weekend, they put in two stairmasters, a leg curl machine, and two other machines that do something to your legs and butt. And some free weights. They’ve contracted with a personal trainer, free to the employees, and so I signed up for that, too. I’ve lost half the weight I need to lose and I’ve kept it off for a year, but I still need to lose the rest of the weight. Since it’s a free service (for now), why not go for it?

And to celebrate that decision, I bought an MP3 player. Also because I could never win the ipod from Avitable’s Sunday contests. Besides, the ipod doesn’t have a tuner like this one, so when I get tired of my pathetically small library of songs, I can just listen to the radio.

My sister MMB was here with her family a couple weeks ago and I am just now transferring pictures from my camera to my computer. We spent a whole day at the Nelson-Atkins Museum and had a lot of fun. There was a lady there with a crazy outfit that was even better than the artwork. I tried to get a picture, but it didn’t come out. Here it is anyway, below the fold with a bunch more pics.

My brother in law told us to stop fake smiling, but that’s the best picture of both of us. Unless you like the one where we’re laughing. So I posted a dorky picture of him from last summer. Because I’m like that. And finally, my nephews lookin’ cool.

That week my grandfather turned 93 and we all went to dinner to celebrate. I only got one picture that came out okay, so it’s hard to compare the pictures to see what a huge difference a year has made. Last year he was recovering from a fall at his home, had moved into an assisted living facility and was also recovering from pneumonia. This year he is doing very well.

Look! No oxygen tank!

Even a few months can make an amazing difference. This is what the lake looked like in January.

These were taken today, from the same places if not the exact same angles.

Tune in tomorrow (or whenever) for the cool ways I used my sunglasses as a lens filter. No kidding.

