I took today off so that I can lay around and watch basketball* and drink mint juleps.** Okay, that’s not true. I’ve never had a mint julep, but I don’t think you should ever mix whiskey and mint.

I had a couple errands to run, so I asked MoC if she wanted to have breakfast before we both laid around watching basketball and not drinking mint juleps. We ended up at my favorite greasy spoon. When I glanced out the window, I noticed their sign by the road.

SMOKERS ELCOME

Several smaller cities around Kansas City have made smoking illegal in restaurants and other public places. It’s really a stupid law and it has caused more than one small business to close its doors. A place like Debby’s Diner would probably close if the ban were passed in Kansas City. I think smokers should be elcome if the proprietor wants to elcome them. It isn’t up to the government. But I digress.

On the way back to MoC’s place, we passed the duck pond. The ducks weren’t by the pond, but up the (slippery) slope toward the parking lot.

duck2007-10-05 more ducks
These pictures were taken in October, but you get the idea …

Then I had this disturbing conversation with MoC.

MoC: Do you think they just back up to the cars and shit on them?

Me: What??

MoC: Well, they’re kind of surrounded there and there’s no place to go …

Me: I worry about you sometimes.

MoC: I know, honey. I know. You’ve got more to worry about than you know.

Me: Oh, my God. You mean I’m not worried enough?

MoC: Not nearly enough.

Edit: When I picked up MoC, we decided to take her car because she has the rock-star parking pass – the handicap parking hang tag. I got in the driver’s seat, put the key in the ignition, turned it and was BLASTED with AC/DC’s “Dirty Deeds (Done Dirt Cheap).” I gave MoC the rocker sign (also known as the devil horns) and said, “Rock ON, MoC!” Apparently there is more to that parent-child role-reversal theory than I previously believed.

*The NCAA tournament. In my office pool I took Memphis on one sheet and Texas on the other. Most everyone else took Kansas to win but I know something that they refuse to admit – Kansas sucks (even though I picked them to reach the Elite Eight on one sheet and the Final Four on the other). They still suck. Tremendously.

On the other Kansas hand, Kansas State played a really great game last night and beat the #6 seed, which was fun, but I need them to lose their next game.

**Find the mint julep recipe here. It doesn’t sound appealing at all.

